ASPX file opens as empty NotePad from Visual Studio

Visual Studio opens an empty NotePad when accessing a file within the solution. Hopefully you have a backup at hand.

Issue

I recently came across an issue in Visual Studio that had my brain spinning for a couple a days:

  • I was accessing a custom page through the browser and the result was a blank.
  • I imagined it was some kind of authentication issue or missing resources, and I used Fiddler to check the traffic, but nothing was found there that could give me a clue.
  • Things got a little weird when I tried to open the custom page in Visual Studio, and a blank NOTEPAD popped up. I went outside of Visual Studio and tried to open the ASPX file directly in NOTEPAD, but I got an empty file.

Cause

So after doing some online research, I found out that this issue was related to a missing file pointer at the OS level. This could’ve been caused by a sudden shut-down, which makes sense because I usually close the VM immediately rather than properly shutting down the system (lesson learned).

Resolution

Seems like there is no resolution for this issue, and the only alternative is to recreate the file.

Luckily I was using source control, so I just deleted the file locally and got latest version.

Reference

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/12968836/visual-studio-is-opening-web-page-in-notepad

Author: Luis Carrazana

Skilled Senior Technology Consultant and Strategist, with a decade of experience advising and assisting customers from small and large companies, including Fortune 500. Luis is a Microsoft Certified Professional with extensive experience in .NET framework and SharePoint development.

Leave a Reply

